Deuces Wild!

How about these playoffs we are having this season? For the second year in a row, the four division series all start off with a 2-0 lead. Before I talk about my boys in blue, I feel like I should give some attention to the other three series first.

Who could have ever imagined that the Tampa Bay Rays would be one win away from making their first trip to the ALCS? After being a perennial sub-.500 team for the better part of this decade, the Rays have transformed into a solid offensive and defensive team with a wacky stadium. I have to give props to Evan Longoria for being the man in this series, thusfar. This kid is a freakin’ stud, and his star will continue to rise for years to come. I think Tampa Bay will finish off the White Sox in 4, only because Ozzie Guillen won’t let his team get swept out of Chicago like that other team from the Windy City will.

As for the Angels-Red Sox series… how disappointing is this?!? I expected better from the Halos. I really did. If a team wins 100 games in a season, they should not lose their first two games of a playoff series at home! I’m sorry, but that performance was pretty pathetic. Now they are in serious trouble and should probably start making plans for next week in Cabo San Lucas. Boston should sweep this series only because I don’t think the Rally Monkey will work at Fenway Park.

Now on to the Fightin’ Phillies. They look tough… very tough. Philadelphia is about to sweep the Brewers and they are looking primed and ready for the Dodgers.

Speaking of LA… how about that stunned crowd at Wrigley Field? Manny Ramirez.

Manny Ramirez.

What else can be said? Oh yeah, Chad Billingsley.

Chad Billingsley.

I expect a party-like atmosphere in the drizzling rain after the Dodgers sweep the Cubbies out of town. As always, I’ll be there early!

Before I head off into Dream Land, and on the off-chance that those of you reading this are in or near the Inland Valley, there will be a former Dodger making an appearance and signing autographs Saturday morning!

Former Dodger infielder, Bill Russell, will be signing free autographs (only one per person) at Honabach & Sons, 3857 Schaefer Ave. #G, Chino, CA 91710. This is taking place Saturday, October 4th. Lucky for me, that’s only five minutes from my house! He will there from 10am to noon, so be sure to get there early! That’s all from me for now. Have a great night, and let’s wrap it up at home with a sweet sweep!

Think Blue!
-JD

Leave a Reply

